Book Review: Almost Amish by Kathryn Cushman

9780764208263_p0_v1_s260x420

I received this book, Almost Amish by Kathryn Cushman, in the mail this past week, compliments of Bethany House. The premise of the book is that two families are willing to star on a reality series where they will live similar to the Amish for three months. Julie, one of the mom’s, finds herself stressed out and ready to have a change of pace. The other mom, Susan, is a divorced Martha Stewart wanna-be, who doesn’t seem to know the word relax. Together, they merge their families (minus husband of Julie) to live in an Amish home for these months.

The plot of the story overall was good, and I can see the good points it had throughout, however, the story itself got me skimming areas just to get to the end of the next chapter. Maybe it was the multiple characters I was having to keep up with, but when I finished the book my reaction was, ok. It wasn’t a book I thought about much once I put it back into the bookshelf. It would be one I’d lend to someone else and then if I never got it back, I wouldn’t be upset.

Why did I not like it? I think I had higher expectations for the book. I looked forward to them actually living an Amish lifestyle, but with some of the more modern conveniences. I wasn’t sure I liked all the tricky challenges thrown out, with the purpose in my mind, to make a person fail. The Kendra person I did not like. Or maybe I was just looking for more character development.

But overall, it is worth a read and it could have just been me have higher expectations for this book, especially since it was in the Amish realm.

Leave a Reply

