Book Review: All Things New by Lynn Ausin

All-Things-New-Austin-Lynn-N-9780764208973

I’m a little delinquent in posting my reviews of the book, but I just finished it a few days ago.

This is my first time reading anything by Lynn Austin, although friends have told me she is a good writer. I acknowledge that the story was well written with a good plot. It isn’t your typical romantic love story, because it was almost as though you were there living the experience through the character(s). For me there were two main characters in the book, the mom and the daughter Josephine. You were introduced the brother and other sister, but even though I see where they played their rolls, they definitely didn’t have a main roll in the book, other than in the situations that occurred.

As I said before, it is a very well written book, and it transported me to the days way before my time. I liked that the main characters stayed true to their position, especially in order for their to keep their honor in the deep south at that time. Too many books seem to romanticize the south, especially after the war, but it was a dark, hard period. This, I believe gave a new perspective. For that, I appreciate it.

Honestly, I’d love to see a continuation of the story. If anything, of Josephine, or of the neighboring plantation. Lest I give something away, that will be all I will say.

I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers to provide an honest review.

Leave a Reply

