Book Review: A Sound Among the Trees Susan Meissner

10358483

WOW. I started this book at 8:00 in the evening, set it down to go to bed. But, the story remained on my thoughts, so I had to get up and finish the book. This is definitely a book that once you start, you cannot put back down!

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from the book. The first chapter or two, I was still uncertain. The book read unlike any other Christian fiction book I’ve read, more along the lines of a non-Christian book. It was interesting. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it might be the development of characters that were lacking in some way. I felt like I didn’t really get to know Marielle, or Carson, or Adaliene. However, in other areas, the details were spot on. Despite the non-depth (as I perceive it) to the characters, the book was one that I couldn’t put down.

The book is set in modern times, when a new bride is brought into the home of her new husband’s, ex-wife’s home. The ex-wife died several years before, but they live there with the grandmother (of the ex-wife), because Carson doesn’t want to uproot his family. Anyway, the new wife is not Southern, and you find yourself being drawn into the mystery of the house. The question through out is, does Savannah’s spirit reside in the house.

Overall, it was a good read. I think I enjoyed the second half of the book better than the first.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The opinions of the book is solely my own.

Leave a Reply

