Book Review: Secrets by Kristen Heitzmann

9781585588084

This book was given to me, and it sat on my bedside table for weeks, before I seriously started reading it. However, the first few chapters did nothing to really captivate my interest. There was some interest, but not enough for me to devote my time to it. In fact, during the time that I initially started reading it, months had passed, in addition to my reading several other books. However, after finishing the book “A Sound Among the Trees” I decided that it was time to finish the book.

Amazingly, it was a good book. Once I passed the initial set up stage of the book, it improved dramatically. It got to the point where I was eager to get to the end. I admit, I did fast read some areas, but that was in my interest in finding out how it ended. Despite my fast reading, I don’t think there was any area that necessarily needed to be edited out. Each was necessary in its own way in the telling of the story. That, and I knew that I would likely pick up this book in the future for a reread.

That said, I’ve noticed that books by Kristen Heitzmann have a psychotic element to it. There was another book of hers that I read (haven’t reviewed) that had the same sort of feel, genre to it, “The Edge of Recall”. This particular book didn’t have the same dark elements to it, but it hinted at them.

Overall, I would recommend this book. Give it a chance beyond the first few chapters.

Leave a Reply

