Book Review: The House That Love Built by Beth Wiseman

_200_360_Book.813.cover

 

I have to admit, I had a preconceived idea of how this book was going to go before I even started it, just from the cover image. However, I was wrong. But that isn’t a bad thing. I did enjoy the book, although I thought the relationship between the two of them moved extremely fast. Especially since they both were so adamant about not being interested in finding another mate. The amount of anger that Owen had towards his ex-wife, made it wonder why on earth he made a certain purchase that he did. It seemed to me, like he was hoping to win her back. And then, with Brooke, her equally strong feelings regarding her ex-husband. To me, it didn’t seem like the timeline meshed together.

Then towards the end of the book, you have the visit by the ex-wife. That, it seemed like was a bit contrived. Almost like, let’s throw in another quirk and make the story even more exciting than it currently is. It almost seems like there could have been a second story written from this, from the perspective of the ex-wife which would then explain the event that occurs near the end of the book.

All in all, I did enjoy reading the book. However, it wasn’t one of those that I had to stay up burning the midnight oil to finish—at least until I got closer to the end.

My thanks to Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze for providing a free ebook for review.

Leave a Reply

