Book Review: The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah E. Ladd

_200_360_Book.829.cover

 

The plot: Amelia Barrett, heiress to an estate nestled in the English moors, promises to take care of the baby, of a dear friend on her deathbed. She ends up proposing to the father of the child, months later, to keep the child and her own inheritance. However, there is a snag in the plan, for she is already engaged to be married.

This particular story is described as being a Jane Austin like book. If that is the case, I’m not sure I really want to read any Jane Austin books in the future. This particular one was slow, and I didn’t ever really fall in love with any of the characters. I like it when I read, and I find myself whisked away to the particular time-period and feel like I’m there watching it unfold. Rather, I felt like I was hopscotching thru the story trying to make sense of it all. There was some drama and intrigue, but unfortunately I found myself fast forwarding to the end, just to see how it all ended.

I do like regency period stories, but this one seems to fall flat on its face when it comes down to being a book that I would look forward to reading in the future.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

booksneeze_badge

One thought on “Book Review: The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah E. Ladd

  1. Awesome review! Thanks for your thoughts on this book.

    Just wanted to share…

    I have numerous book giveaways going on at my site if you want to enter.

    Also, I am putting together a “Best of Books” Blog Hop to share the books you loved the most in 2013. You can click here for more info and to sign up. http://dianeestrella.com/best-ofs/

    Have a great weekend!
    Diane 🙂

Leave a Reply

