Book Review: The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall

DownloadedFile-3

 

I picked this particular book because of the author, Cindy Woodsmall. Having just finished the series, Sisters of the Quilt, I was looking forward to another good series. However, I may have set my expectations too high. Just so you know, I still enjoyed this book, however I selected a book that was the second in the series. Unlike my previous luck, I found it difficult to truly understand what all I had missed in the previous book. The second, seemed more like a mish-mash of chatter. Found it a little harder to follow along, and realized that I desperately needed to read the first book in this particular series to understand exactly what was going on. Perhaps to understand the situation between her and her sister Emma.

Another thing I found a bit discerning, is that I kept getting confused about this being a story about Amish primarily. Yes, there were some Englishers mixed in, but not enough to have created such a turmoil in my reading. This was one book that I admit, I did some re-reading to try and understand what I may have missed.

I do look forward to reading the third book in this series, if anything to understand exactly what is going on and where the story is taking us. What Rhoda’s situation is with her current insight into things. Her future romance. Those, created enough interest that I want to know what is happening. However, it is unlikely that I would return to this particular series and reread it or recommend to others.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

Leave a Reply

