Book Review: Once Upon a Prince by Rachel Hauck

imgres

Wow. So I just finished this book on my kindle, and I started it last night while taking a long, soaking bath. I continued reading it, during my lunch break, which was by far too short! But after work, as soon as I settled down at home I finished the book. I have to admit, towards the end of the book I was beginning to fly thru it. Which means, this book will be most definitely one I will be re-reading in the future.

Basically, Once Upon a Prince is about Susanna Truitt, a landscape designer who is destined to marry her high-school sweetheart. That is, until her sweetheart, who has been fighting the war overseas comes home to tell her that he has fallen in love with someone else, thus effectively cutting off their engagement. Susanne soon finds her life in turmoil, with her job as a landscape designer on the line and it seems like everything else in her life is falling apart. But a chance encounter with a young man visiting the island of Georgia, introduces her to a valuable friendship. Before long, she discovers that her young man is a prince, and he can only marry someone from his country, due to a law that has been in the books for over 100 years. Heartbreak is on the horizon.

I really, really enjoyed reading this book. As I mentioned above, it was hard for me to put it down. The way that Rachel wove the characters in St. Simons Island and Brighton, made me feel as though I was there, a voyager listening in on their interactions and conversations. Their most intimate thoughts were mine to digest.

The story glided along, touching areas here and there, with tears coming to my eyes at certain points. I enjoyed the appearances of Aurora, although I have to admit, I wished to have known more about her. However, I acknowledge she was a person that belonged best as a drifter, much as she was in the story.

I do know that what I read on the back of the book, versus what I read inside seemed to be a little disconnected. However, I by far enjoyed what I read within the pages.

My thanks to booksneeze for providing me a complimentary review copy on behalf of the publisher, Thomas Nelson. Any opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

