Book Review: A Simple Change by Judith Miller

9780764210013_p0_v2_s260x420

I have to admit, when I initially selected this book I was along the thoughts that this was another Amish story, never delving into wonder what the Amana’s were. Now I do. This story more than anything has made me want to research and understand this particular group of people.  It made me all the more curious as to what was going to happen. I believe the story satisfied my curiosity to a certain degree, but also made me yearn to know more. But, that’s just based on the Amana colonies. Overall, the book was good.

It had me in a cross between boredom to fascination, and I realize that does not make a lick of sense. But it intrigued me, because I wasn’t really sure what was going on. Again, it goes back to situation that I had no idea who the Amana people were. I felt that the book informed me, but only on a need to know basis in relation to the story as to where it was in the plot. For once, I wanted to know more.

Jancey is in a quandry as to what to do. Her parents are returning back to their home in the colonies, and have invited Jancey to come along also. Problem is Jancey has a love interest, who at this time, has more of an interest in her than vice versa. She does end up moving to the colonies, and in turn must make a huge adjustment to their ways. She learns and learns to love the simplicity, while making friends and a new interest in love. Meanwhile, her love interest from her old home comes to the colonies, determined to win Jancey. Unfortunately problems arise that neither one of them anticipated.

All in all, I finished the book and would most definitely recommend reading it.

I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers to provide an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

