Book review: Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry

every-waking-moment_300

As Amazon describes the book: Treha Langsam is a mysterious young woman who has fallen through the cracks, much like many of the elderly people she works with at Desert Gardens Retirement Home. But Miriam Howard, director of the facility, sees her extraordinary gift and untapped potential. Treha is a whisperer of sorts, calling those who have slipped into dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity.

When Treha’s and Miriam’s stories intertwine with a documentary team looking for stories of the elderly, Treha’s gift is uncovered, and the search begins for answers to the mysteries of her past. As their paths converge, each person is forced to face the same difficult question: What if this is as good as my life gets?

Initially I had a little difficulty getting into the book, uncertain with what exactly was going on with the first chapter, yet there was something that kept me clued in that this book might be worth reading. So I stuck with it, and found myself truly fascinated. It was a book that once I got into it, I couldn’t let stop until I read it all the way to the end.

The only part of the book I thought I could have done without was the Outtakes. Perhaps if I read the book again and again, it would make sense. Actually, towards the end I almost saw the purpose of it, but I think it would have been better to stay along with the way the story was written. Because initially it threw me off kilter a bit.

But all in all, I definitely recommend reading this book. It might become a keeper for your library.

I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers through the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review and was only required to give my honest opinion which I have done. All opinions stated are my own.

Leave a Reply

