Book Review: The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen

imgres

I rather enjoyed this book, although I have to admit that I had some difficulty in getting initially into the book from the start. Initially I decided that I’d just skim along until the end, but somewhere along the way it grabbed my attention and kept me captivated until the very end.

However, in my quest to finish the book, that is, until I slowed down to truly read the book, I lost the description of Alec. Never in the story did I picture a manly man, but rather one of a more feminine nature, and that, to be honest, I had trouble with. Therefore, I’d have to force myself into thinking of him as more of a manly man, until he would start this delicate dances. Then I’d sigh. I believe I have read too many stories where the dancing master was more in an effiminate nature. Not saying there is anything wrong, but I like my men manly while reading books.

I appreciated that there wasn’t the usual triteness of situations, although at times, especially at the beginning, Julia really annoyed me. But, it was a statement in the book made by Alec regarding her essentially she was flirtatious yet was hiding hurt, the mask slipped just enough for him to see her.

Overall, I enjoyed the way the story was rich in details, it took me along in a journey in Regency England. My hour lunch breaks were never long enough, forcing me to spend an evening dedicated to finishing the book. The plot twisted here and there, just when you thought you knew the answer to Julia, it would twist you off in another direction.

Disclosure: I received a free e-book copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any other compensation and all thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

