Book Review: Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

One of my favorite books is When Calls the Heart. I’ve read numerous books by Janette Oke over the years, but that particular series is my favorite. So I was looking forward to reading this book. Unfortunately, I think my expectations from were too high from the beginning. First, I saw the first (or maybe it was the second) in the series on Hallmark. I wasn’t really pulled in or intrigued to watch another episode. But I blame that on me. I thought I was watching the series version of When Calls the Heart!

So when I selected the book Where Courage Calls, I had one scene already in my head that was not in the book. I don’t see how the two can be considered companion pieces, when scenes in the book are drastically different from the book. In the tv series, there is a stagecoach robbery. In the book, there is no mention of such, rather a theft of a different nature.

But putting all that aside, my overall reaction to the book is disappointment. I thought it moved along very slowly, parts of it delightful, but other parts I kept waiting for something to happen. It’s almost as though the writers were told, let’s make this one book into a second part, now drag it along.

The characters I didn’t really get to know, other than the main character. Her “love” interests, I never got to know, I had no sort of affinity for them. The drama of the book didn’t captivate me, because it almost seemed trite. And the event at the end, again, I didn’t feel any sort of clues or dramatic event to lead up to it. The most disappointment was the ending of the story. It leaves too much of it open ended.

Overall, it’s an okay book. Written well, but lacking in areas. It was a book I could set down and have no urgent interest in finishing it, but I did finish it.

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any other compensation and all thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

