Book Review: Echoes of Mercy by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Image

“When a suspicious accident occurs at the famous Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate the circumstances surrounding the event and how the factory treats its youngest employees—the child workers.”

As always, there is more to the book than just the snipet description on the back of the book. Caroline Lang is a young woman who is part of the Labor Commission who goes undercover to research labor in American corporations. When a death of a fellow agent occurs, Caroline is called into investigate, the death and complete the work of the previous agent.

While there, she becomes friends with one of the workers, and befriends a young girl, and encourages her to go to school, rather than work in the factories, because she believes education is much more important.

All in all, I did enjoy the book, although the area where the kids run off I found a bit too much. I understand the purpose in the outcome of the book, but as I read it, I kept wondering…why?

Typically I do not like multiple voices in a book, because I’m always have to look up and make sure I’m reading the correct person. This one actually seemed to flow pretty well, and I didn’t get too confused.

I’d keep this book to reread, if anything, to see the details I missed the first time around in my eagerness to find out the end result of the story.

Note: I was provided with a free paperback copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion by the Blogging For Books review program. I was not further compensated for reviewing this product and all thoughts and sentiments expressed above are completely my own and unbiased.

Leave a Reply

