Book Review: A Promise to Remember by Kathryn Cushman

Image

 

I just finished reading this book that I downloaded to my Kindle. To be honest, I have read only one other book by Cushman, and I hadn’t been impressed with it. So unimpressed, I had no intentions on reading any other of her books. However, this one slipped past me, and to be honest, I’m glad it did.

The basic premise of the book: “When a car accident kills two teens from opposite sides of the tracks, the aftermath threatens to tear a community apart.”

You aren’t given the details of the tragedy, merely the outcome of how both sides are dealing with the aftermath of the accident. You know it was a car accident, but the rest of the details come trickling through later, and even then, you are still left in the dark. Such as where was each son headed or going, and how did it happen. But that wasn’t the point of the story, although it did leave me pondering several times.

The story switched back and forth between the two families, the trauma and stress that each decision has on the other members of the family. The best part of the story is the end, but of course. But I liked the very last page of the story, a statement made by the daughter.

Leave a Reply

