Book Review: Tide and Tempest by Elizabeth Ludwig

Image

When I first selected this book, I didn’t realize it was part of a series and I had ended up selecting book three. So, for the longest time I put off reading the book. The thrill was gone, because from past experience, books in a series is merely a continuation of the previous. Usually they tie in together and if you haven’t read the previous books, then you are lost. But finally, deciding enough time had passed I picked it up and began to read. And then I couldn’t stop. Despite this being a third book, and there were a few mentions of previous characters, the book was quite interesting. The previous story wasn’t necessary, although it may have been helpful. Essentially it carried itself.

It was intriguing, the plot for me carried along well, and it kept me interested to know what happens around the next corner, or in this case, chapter. The story wasn’t overly predictive, there were times where I was surprised in the outcome of an event, and to me, that is a well written book. I found that I was transported to that time and place, and could feel the sweat or the pounding of the fists.

The only thing that I thought could use some work was the back cover. It was accurate, but it really and truly didn’t tell the story about what happened between the pages of the book. The orphanage of Tillie’s was not hardly worth a mention on the back. It did play a part, in an roundabout way. The story was so much deeper and more involved.

That said, this is a great book and I’d willingly recommend it to others to read. Don’t worry about it being out of sequence from the previous two books, it stands on it’s own.

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any other compensation and all thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

