Book Review: Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz

Image

 

Initially when I started this book, I wasn’t very certain about. It pulled me in, but not far enough. But, I was determined to skim and get to the end. Well, somewhere along the way, the book pulled me fully in and I found myself totally immersed in the story. So much so, that my thoughts were on finishing the book when I was busy.

My version of Courting Morrow Little was on my Kindle. I was reading it on my iPad and then switched over to the Kindle to finish. The story is about Morrow Little. She lives during the frontier life, and her life is torn apart at a young age when her mother and baby sister are killed at the hands of the Shawnee. Her brother, is missing. It then skips to where she is living with her aunt, and is returning home per request of her father. She arrives home to discover her father has made friends with some questionable characters. There are men at the fort who seek Morrow’s attention, but she just isn’t interested. Until she falls in love with an unlikely person, and in turn is no longer safe on the frontier. Together the leave, seeking a new life in the Missouri frontier.

All in all, I did enjoy the book and would probably read it again. It’s not in my list of “delete” that I have stored on my Kindle. The beginning is a little slow, but over time, as I mentioned before, you are pulled into the story. In a sense, I think there could have been a little more character development. There were areas that I felt I was floundering, such as her friends. 

Personally, I think it is worth a read for someone to develop their own perspective. I enjoyed it and would love to read a continuation.

Leave a Reply

