Book Review: Full Steam Ahead by Karen Witemyer

18652058

I. Loved. This. Book.  Got that, right? I loved the book. Started on it the day after I received it in the mail. As always, I make the mistake of starting a book on my lunch break at work. But it usually isn’t a problem, because I can usually stop and put it down when time is up. Notice the word usually. As of late I seem to be picking up more and more books where the quality of writing pulls me into the time period. This is one of those books.

Full Steam Ahead is a young woman who is the sole heir to her father’s shipping business. He’s always wanted a son, and she grew up knowing that he wanted a son to carry on their name. So, when she returns home from school, due to her father’s health, she agrees to go to New Orleans to find a husband. To carry on the family business before it’s too late. Their family has a legacy, and that is Lafitte’s Dagger. Unfortunately, another family claims to own the rights to it. So Nicole sets off to New Orleans, with her legacy in tow. Unfortunately, she ends up on a side excursion where she finds more than she ever bargained.

As I said, I liked this book. But there were some areas where I wish it had either expanded or further explored. That is of Nicole’s parents. I understood their purpose in the book, but you get snippets of them at the beginning and then elsewhere. You ended up not caring if they were there or not, although they were important aspects to the story. Nicole, you got to know. Darius, you got to know. He’s a fellow whom I wasn’t so sure about at first, but whom I can to love. Perhaps not in the same aspect as Nicole, you know. There was drama, and where I thought the story would end. It didn’t. Just enough suspense, uncertainty to keep my interest there.

All in all, this will be a book that I will share, but will write my name in ink to not ever lose from sight. This one will not end up at the recycle bin at the local used book store. 🙂

I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are mine.

Leave a Reply

