Book Review: For Love or Country by Jennifer Hudson Taylor

 

 

 

Image

The cover on this book displays a strong woman, capable of handling whatever is tossed her way. From the little bit that I read, that’s how I would have described her. Strong. Non-nonsense. The book is about Tyra MacGregor who works as a spy for against the British army. She is caught and placed under house arrest.

I tried to like this book, but I found it difficult. The story consists of a lot of conversations and i felt like I never really got to know Tyra. Now understanding that this is book two, perhaps that’s why. The explanation of the MacGregor’s and their life on the plantation was given in more detail in that first book. But for me, jumping in midway through, I found I was lost. In turn, I never really got to know Tyra. Which means, I never got to like her or was rooting for her.

This was one of the few books that I’ve owned that I didn’t complete. The back cover summary made me curious, but the words within didn’t capture my interest. I would have loved to have given it a positive review, but I can’t.

I received this book from a Goodreads Giveaway.

Leave a Reply

