Book Review: Through the Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer

jpeg

Through the Deep Waters is about a young girl who grew up in a brothel and seeks a better life for herself. She wants to serve as a Harvey Girl, but she isn’t old enough. So instead, she is sent to a hotel to serve as a chambermaid until she is of age.

I chose this book to read because I wanted to read of this young girl’s journey from a brothel house to a Harvey Girl. However, I was intensely disappointed by the book. The girl I never really got to enjoy. She annoyed me by her extreme timidness, which sometimes boarded on oddness. The image on the front of the book I don’t believe portrayed her character very well at all. On the cover, you expect someone who has a stronger character. It took a very long time for this girl to find her character.

I’m not sure what it was about the book, but the characters really annoyed me. All of them. I had such hope for the story, but I never got to know any of them enough to fall in love with them. I skipped entire sections, just to get to more meat in the story. Even then, it was frustrating. There was maybe one section where my hope was raised that the story perhaps had a good thing going, but a few pages away, the story started floundering again.

Sometimes it makes me wonder if certain authors are given new books just based upon their history of writing. If I or any other potential authors wrote this, would we be guaranteed a spot on the bookshelves.

All in all, I was very disappointed in the book. I’ve read other by Kim Vogel that I thought were spectacular. This, was not one of them.

I received this book from bloggingforbooks.com in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

