Book Review: A Triple Knot by Emma Campion

18759930

A Triple Knot is about Joan, a cousin considered poor relations. Her father was executed while she was young as a traitor, and she is forever trying to keep her father’s memory alive. A hart is often intertwined in the story, a symbol used by her father. As a young child, her cousin Ned believes himself in love with her, and threatens anyone who claims interest in her. She’s sent away as a wife for a foreign allegiance, but things turn out badly. Instead, she finds herself in love with a knight. Tragedy and love are intertwined within the story.

Lest I give any more details or spoilers about the book away, I’ll instead rate my thoughts. Typically I like period pieces and I did like this one. I liked the way that Emma weaved the story, although I wasn’t aware until her marriage just how young Joan was actually. There were parts I skimmed through, just so I could get to the end of the story, but found that I had lost important pieces and had to backtrack. The book did pique my interest and has increased my desire to read history of the story of Joan.

What I did take away from the book is how the young children of prominent positions, of royalty, have no control of their lives. They are dictated by the folly’s of their parent’s and the foreigner’s with who they hope to gain an alliance with. Love is never in the picture, and true love is something sought by the commoners.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

