Book Review: Like a Flower in Bloom by Siri Mitchell

imgres

Books by Siri Mitchell always have covers that draw me in, promising a rewarding read. More times than not, I’m a bit disappointed. Started this book and it took about a week and a half to finish. I’d read a little bit here and there until finally I decided it was time to finish the book.

The book is about a single woman, who lives with her father as his assistant. They research flowers, and she illustrates the flowers while writing books to create an income. A nosy uncle comes along and convinces her father that it is time for Charlotte to have her season, and he will pay for it. Charlotte is less than pleased, especially when a stranger arrives and takes her place as assistant to her father. So while she does a season, in her small town, she’s just as determined to find a match just to show her father than he can’t live without her. Unfortunately, things don’t go necessarily according to plan. And Charlotte, doesn’t follow by normal tradition, being an eccentric that she comes across as being.

The story for me was a bit dizzy, in fact, a statement in the book described a situation where the character was dizzy with all the activity going on. For me, it described exactly how I felt about the book. I never fell in love with Charlotte, never really liked her. The new assistant, Edward Trimble, had such promise, that I liked him so much better than Charlotte. In fact, it would have been cool if he had been the focus of the book, rather than Charlotte.

All in all, this will be a book that I will gladly share with others and hope that they end up enjoying it more than I did.

I received this book from Bethany House in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

