Book Review: The Wood’s Edge by Lori Benton

www.randomhouse

I’ve never read a book by Lori Benton, but when I was reading the synopsis of the book it intrigued me. Babies are born in the heart of a battle between the soldiers and indians in the 1700’s. A baby dies, but it’s place is taken by a twin baby boy of an Indian mother. Years later, the twin of the Indian mother finds out about his other twin and goes out seeking him, and instead finds a friendship with his sister.

The plot of the book made me eager to find out how the story worked out, but to be honest, I was very disappointed in the book. I wanted to like it. I wanted to love it. But within the first two chapters I was so confused and found myself having to go back several pages to figure out what I missed and where. Perhaps that’s my fault for reading too fast, but even so it shouldn’t not have been so easy for me to get lost.

Oh, and the kicker, the story has no ending. It has an ending of sorts, but not an ending that you’d expect. Let’s just say, you can tell the author is expecting to do a sequel to finish the story. Unfortunately, I won’t be along for the ride.

I received this book from Blogginforbooks in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

