Book Review: Dauntless by Dina L. Sleiman

511o40urdoL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I chose to read Dauntless based partially on the cover art, and the synopsis on the back cover. At the time, I wasn’t aware that this particular series was geared towards the young adult audience. Despite that, I still enjoyed the book as an adult.

The book is about a young woman, Merry Ellison who once upon a time was a baroness daughter. But through fate of a father who joined a rebellion, her family along with those of the village, were slaughtered. Merry, while hidden away with the children, survived. Needing the survive from then on, they soon became known as “The Ghosts of Farthingale Forest”. With a rather bad choice of stealing gold from the king’s men, the “ghosts” were soon a wanted target.

All in all, the book was good. It captured my interest at the very beginning, the first chapter pulling me in. Being as I was reading on my lunch break, I realized that by the second chapter I had to stop. And that’s only because I was being pulled so far into the forest adventure I knew that going back into work would be bleak indeed. As it was, I found myself starting it up again that evening, and spending the rest of the night finishing the book.

The book I enjoyed, and now knowing that it is a book geared towards young adults, I give it two thumbs up. A review I read on Goodreads, someone mentioned how Allan was always mentioned as a child, therefore the introduction as a love interest was hard to fathom. I completely agree. He was a part of the children, and I always saw Merry as being so much older than the children. So when there was the introduction of the potential of love between her and one of the boys, I had difficulty wrapping my brain around it.

But other than that, the book was good. I would definitely recommend reading it.

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

