Book Review: Jaded by Varina Denman

cover60681-medium

I’ve never read a book by Varina Denman, however she is an author that I will look for in the future. Published by David Cook, the company did a great job in designing a cover that appealed to me. In a way, it reminded me of the painting “Christina” by Andrew Wyeth.

The story is about a young woman in her 20’s, who has faced life with her mom, shunned by the local church. Ruthie, has grown up knowing that something happened to expell them from the congregation, but she has no idea what it was being as she was only seven at the time. Her mother, refuses to talk about and becomes extremely angry when faced with challenges in life. But things change with the arrival of a new, young pastor in town. Plus, he’s single.

Eventually things happen and eventually Ruthie does find out what went down so many years before. The question now, is forgiveness a possibility.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. It was a different perspective on the normal books I read. It kept me pulled into the story, so much, that I didn’t want to put it down when it came time to return to work. That in my mind, is an indication of a good book. I enjoyed the way you saw things thru Ruthie’s mind when she came upon obstacles in life and how they were eventually resolved.

I received this book as an eBook from Netgalley in exchange for a honest interview.

Leave a Reply

