Book Review: The Last Heiress by Mary Ellis

cover55351-medium

I selected this book to read, partially because of the book cover but also because the premise of the book sounded interesting. However, I fear, this is a time where the inside pages don’t live up to the expectations set forth by the exterior.

The Last Heiress is about a young woman who travels from England to North Carolina, to find out if there is any way to get the shipments of cotton restored to her families mills. The war between the states have stopped the flow of shipments, and if nothing comes in soon, their workers will be out of work.

So to North Carolina Amanda Dunn sets, with her lady’s maid in tow. Her twin sister lives in Wilmington, and she stays with her and her husband in their lavish home. She dislikes the fact that they have slaves while her sister’s husband points out that they have slaves in England. Yes, they might be paid, but they make very little. Needless to say, there is little to be said where they will agree. Amanda makes friends with a local shopkeeper, and finds that his views are similar to her own.

The plot of the story appeared to be a good one to follow, otherwise I wouldn’t have selected it. However, I could not get into the story. None of the characters did I get to know nor fall in love with. It just seemed to be a tedious read. At 33% on my kindle, I thought for sure I was close to the end. I wasn’t. That’s about when I started reading ahead hoping to find something worth reading. That said, I have yet to finish the book.

Would I recommend this book? Sadly, no.

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

