Book Review: The Healthy Mind Cookbook by Rebecca Katz with Mat Edelson

k2-_0e95a216-552f-4743-90be-f7dddfa9c5b0.v2

This is an awesome cookbook. My husband and I are determined to start eating healthier, but often have difficulty finding the right recipes that taste good and are fairly easy to make. Also, we know that there is a whole host of vegetables and spices that are good for us, but how do you pare them into an awesome dish? The answer? This book.

The Healthy Mind Cookbook has recipes that help enhance brain function, mood, memory and mental clarity. As for whether or not it does what it claims, time will tell. However, I do know that I do feel good after eating, not bloated nor weighted down. My dinner was a wonderful experience into the foray of flavors on the tongue.

Too often you find a cookbook, you like the pretty pictures but then discover that either the recipe is way over your head, or if you do make it, it ends up blah. Especially my experience in cooking healthy. This book, however gives me hope. Our meal this evening was an A+, and because of that, I look forward to trying so many other recipes in the book.

This evening for our fish dinner, I made the Bejeweled Forbidden Rice Salad. Forbidden rice, FYI is essentially black rice. I followed the directions, despite my uncertainty of adding mint to the dish. But at the end, after the flavors melded together, every item in this recipe was necessary and needed. It added such a wonderful flavor profile.

All in all, I would most definitely buy this book for friends who are interested in eating healthy. I believe it is a wonderful addition to any kitchen.

I received this cookbook from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

