Book Review: A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade

imgres

I selected this book based on the cover, the back  synopsis and my experience in reading other books by Becky Wade. I’m pleased to say, I wasn’t disappointed with the book. It was a book that remained on my mind waiting for the right opportunity to return and finish. Which mean, lunch hours were destined to be spent reading rather than eating. This was a story that had me saying no to lunch with the coworkers, just so I could find out what happened.

The book is about Lyndie, who returns back to her childhood home, to work with the thoroughbred horses of an old childhood friend. She had moved away and lost touch with Jake, but it didn’t mean she had forgotten him. Jake, on the other hand, had also grown up and experienced the horrors of war. Injured, he returned from war with night terrors and an unwillingness to let anyone close, and that includes his once best buddy. Despite that, Lyndie is determined to rekindle her friendship with Jake, despite his extremely difficult personality.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book. It gave a different perspective on a person with PTSD and how it is a life long affect. That I didn’t realize. I thought it was something that the soldier would eventually grow out of naturally. Apparently not. Sounds very traumatic. That said, Becky did well in portraying Jake and his struggles, along with Lyndie and her struggles with a sister with a handicap. I thought that the story flowed well and intermingled the two lives just right. You weren’t left grasping and trying to figure out missing pieces.

Hats off to the author for a job well done!

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Book Review: A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade

Leave a Reply

