Book Review: The No More Excuses Diet by Maria Kang

imgres-1

Most everyone, at some point in time, is in a quest to lose weight or get in shape. My goal is primarily to get in shape. After years of growing up thin, I put on weight over time and lost all muscle I once had. Wanting it back, I tried all sorts of methods and none of them worked. Books I read, looking for a purpose, a reason to just get started. This book did it for me.

Some reviews I read mentioned how the book is for the basics, its a general book on diet. To me, it was a motivator, a reason to get up off my duff and do something. The way she wrote, the ideas she presented it all made sense and made a connection somewhere in my brain.

The book synopsis on the front tells us that it takes three days to break down an excuse, three weeks to easy new eating habits and 3 months to total transformation. Overall, what she says is correct. We all need to exercise to a certain extent and eat a balanced diet. It is the foundation of being well the rest of our lives. And the best part is, she acknowledges that we all do make mistakes with our food choices. But her suggestion is, instead of beating yourself up about it, why not just shake it off and get back into the groove the next day.

All in all, I would most definitely recommend this book for those really wanting to get motivated to work out. There are great exercise samples and the suggestion of doing a food journal. That I did start doing, and it really does help you aware of what you are eating and whether or not you really want to eat that candy bar for snack.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

