Book Review: Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano

imgres

I received this book from Netgalley as an eBook.

To be honest, I didn’t have very high hopes for this book even though I had downloaded it to read. For some reason I thought it was going to be filled with the Scotland lit of talking, with a deep brogue. Instead I was delighted and found myself hunkered down to finish this book, being able to read it in “proper” English.

The synopsis is that Andrea is a hospitality consultant who must prove that she has what it takes to be successful. She is so close to a promotion that she agree’s to work for a top chef who is opening a restaurant in the wild’s of Scotland. But the job that she thought would be an easy in and out, isn’t quite so easy. For five days she spends in the Isle of Skye, preparing a proposal that would be outstanding. What she didn’t expect, was to fall in love with the countryside and the man itself.

Despite my initial misgivings for the book, I found it utterly wonderful. The cover art is what actually thru me off, thinking it would be more of an old-fashioned tale. But instead, set in modern times, I found myself pretty much transferred from my world into her’s with the arrival at the hotel. From then on, I was hooked.

Carla’s style of writing had me at the get-go, and had me gasping at places. To be pulled so far deeply into a story, where the world outside my own tends to no longer exist is when I know I’ve found a good book.

This is definitely a keeper and will definitely reread it again in the future. In addition, it is definitely a book that I would recommend to friends, family and whomever else I may come across.

Leave a Reply

