Book review: London Tides by Karla Colonnieves

 Wow. I totally forgot I had downloaded this book, and when I received a gentle reminder I started reading. My mistake was starting at 9:00 at night. Let’s just say I kept on going until I was finished with it, which was well after midnight. 

That said, London Tides is about Ian McDonald the brother of Jamie from Five Days in Skye. I admit, I didn’t realize that, until I started reading. The good thing, you don’t have to have read the previous book to read this one. 

20 years ago, Grace and Ian was to be married, but six months before the wedding she left. Working as a photojournalist in war torn countries, she returns to London. Seeking out Ian, she wonders if he is still single or if he has moved on with his life. 

That’s a rough synposis of the book, but I don’t want to give too much of it away. I found it to be a good book, although lacking in some areas. I never quite picked up why Grace left Ian so many years ago, although I was impressed with him maturity I now he dealt with her return.

This was a book that, as I mentioned before, had me captivated. I was moved to tears at the end, because I really wasn’t sure how it ended. And then he choices he made spoke to me. How so often we do so many things for everyone else and often forget about ourselves in the process.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and definitely recommend reading it. 

I received this book from net galley and David Cook publishing in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

