Book Review: The Determined Heart by Antoinette May

cover64321-medium

Well, I wasn’t really sure what I was getting myself into with this book. I liked the cover and to be honest, I just skimmed the summary of the book. I never realized that Mary Shelley wrote the book Frankenstein.

It was a fascinating story about Mary Shelley, of her trials of life growing up with a step mother and step siblings. Her own sister, Fanny, whom was often ignored in the household, yet fell in love with the same man whom ended up with Mary. I never realized that Percy Shelley, the poet, was the wife of Mary Shelley the authoress of Frankenstein. I never realized that Frankenstein was written by a woman. It goes to show how much I know, right? Well, I know so much more now!

I loved the way the book was written, and upon my further research on Mary Shelley (yes, this book actually prompted me to read more about Mary Shelley), I discovered that Antoinette May followed along with her life and melded truth with fiction so well, that I want to know more about this intriguing woman.

It is a book I would most definitely recommend reading. It is a book that I stayed up late into the night to finish reading. My thanks for NetGalley for offering this book in an ebook format, which allowed me to in turn leave an honest review of this book.

Kudo’s the the author on a story well told!

Leave a Reply

