Book Review: Fire & Ice (Wild at Heart Book Three) by Mary Connealy

51uZyIemWJL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve read other books by Mary Connealy, but this was the first book within the series of Wild at Heart that I read. I knew when I selected it, there were two other books prior. But I was more than pleased to discover that while mentions were made of the characters from the previous books, they weren’t an integral part of this, having to read them to understand what was going on here. Essentially, this book was able to easily stand alone on it’s own. For that, I was thrilled.

Bailey has made her way through life with people believing that she was a boy, the brother of her sisters. However, the neighboring rancher is insistent on pushing his cattle across her land to get into a canyon that he owns. Unfortunately, she refuses to have anything to do with him, partially due to her fear of men.

She does eventually befriend him, and after a long winter responds to a request of his, to my surprise at how easily it pretty much happened. Then came to drama of going into town, the arrival of her neighbor (Gage) mother and the subsequent drama of someone trying to kill Gage.

At some point, I discovered that Connealy writes stories with a comedic twist, which after I discovered that, it helped me understand the less than serious tone that I felt throughout the book. It was an enjoyable read and one that I enjoy passing on to others to enjoy. Now, I need to read the first two books to discover that adventures that Baily’s sister’s went through to find their men.

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

