Book Review: At Love’s Bidding by Regina Jennings

51ZckXd773L._SS300_.jpg

The one thing I’m a sucker for is cover art. If the cover is attractive and appealing, it will have me picking up the book and turning it over to read the synopsis. This one sounded interesting enough, and so I selected it.

Essentially¬†At Love’s Bidding is about an auction house in Boston that inadvertently sold a priceless family heirloom. Now it is up to the owner and his granddaughter, to find the piece of art and bring it back home, before the family sues them.

So Miranda and her grandfather, with the terrible last name of “Wimplegate”, head out to the auction house that they bought, where the piece of art was sent. Unfortunately, they find that the auction house doesn’t contain art, but rather cattle.

Thus begins the story of Miranda and her grandfather trying to locate the piece and figure out what is going on. In the mean time, Miranda is determined to “pretty-up” the cattle auction and gear it towards a traditional auction that she is accustomed to working.

To be honest, I had difficulty in reading this book. Perhaps the last name Wimplegate, got in the way. I kept picturing a circus character, and Miranda is a perfect name for a prissy, snob of a girl. I didn’t like the characters and was never given a reason to really like Miranda.

I tried for many chapters to really get into the guts of the story, to find something that would reach out and grab me, encourage me to continue reading and exploring. But instead, I found myself even more frustrated with the excessive amount of senseless dialogue. Who are these people? Why should I even care what they are doing!?

As I’ve noted to myself, the next time I find a book on the shelves, where the authors name is larger than the text of the book, I will walk away. To me, they are at that point selling the author and not the book. This is a prime example of it. Needless to say, at this point I was regretting my decision in selecting this book and not The Painter’s Daughter by Julia Klassen.

I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

