Book Review: Doodletopia Cartoons by Christopher Hart

512B2qw9PHL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Doodletopia is a book that encourages you to get out your pen or pencil and doodle. To follow that thread of creativity within you and see what you can come up with on your own, with a little help from this book. As the book describes itself, it’s your chance to design your own super-fun cartoon creations.

The intention of this book is great. In fact, I think the cover and back cover are great at selling the idea that there is something fun contained within the pages. This book I believe is perfect for kids, at least the premise is going towards that. The instructions on drawing is perhaps a bit simplistic for an adult wanting to learn how to doodle cartoons. I don’t like that there is the shape already created, and then you must draw within. However, if I reminded myself that this is more in tune for some one much younger than myself, then I believe it is quite insightful.

As for the adult in me, I really did appreciate the tips. Such as advice on how to line up the eyes to the nose and in retrospect, to the mouth. For the kid in me, the idea of drawing up my very own super hero would be fun. However, when it comes to designing a woman and the need of designing a low cut blouse, well that’s where I start questioning the part of me suggesting this is for a child. Maybe a teenager. I think.

But all in all, I believe there are some pretty great fun activities within the book.It just becomes questionable as to what you want your child to learn, if this will be geared towards them. And for the adult, just understand that this isn’t necessarily a drawing book. I’d describe it more as a book to get your creative juices whet and see where it goes from there.

I received this book from Blogging from Books in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

