Book Review: The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter

_140_245_Book.1830.cover.jpg

Wow. Wow. Wow. I really and truly enjoyed reading this book. Within two days of it being in my hand, I had it finished. A description of the book describes it as “She only remembers loving him. But he can’t forget the way she left.” And what a short description, yet so apt for what occurs within the pages.

Essentially Lucy Lovett has amnesia, and the last seven months of her life she can’t remember anything. The only thing she remembers is that she is just weeks away from her wedding and she is in love with Zac Callahan. So when she calls to him for help, he can’t help but feel confused. She left him and for seven months he has been trying to move on.

Personally I thought the book was well written and kept me swept along in the telling of a tale, as Lucy tried to return to her life in Summer Harbor, while Zac attempted to adjust to Lucy’s return.

In Summer Harbor there are three brothers, the Callahan’s, and each brother has a story. The previous book was about Beau and Eden, but you fortunately don’t need that book to understand what is going on within the pages of this book. It’s a standalone, yet part of a series. For that I appreciate it. Alot.

The only part I thought was left with a loose end was Morgan, and I often wondered if she was the one to call the reporters. The comments she made in the restaurant needed clarity, especially if there wasn’t nothing to be said later in the story. I just kind of thought that the disappearance of Morgan from the rest of the story was odd. For me, I kept waiting for her to appear.

Despite the above criticism, I enjoyed the book. And would definitely recommend it to others to read also in the future.

Cover art: Loved the cover on this book. I really liked the idea that you can’t see the couple’s faces, which allowed me to picture my own “perfect” man based upon the descriptions inscribed within the book. It just says “romantic”.

The Goodbye Bride | Author: Denise Hunter | Publisher: Thomas Nelson

I did receive this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for a review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

