Book Review: If I Run by Terri Blackstock

51+Wav-RDNL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a book by Terri Blackstock, but I knew of her to be a good writer. One bordering on mysteries. Being in the mood for a mystery, I was interested in reading the book. The synopsis had me intrigued.

If I Run is about Casey Cox who is on the run, for a murder she didn’t commit. Her DNA and evidence is all over the crime scene, but she didn’t do it. But, she knows who probably did. With this she knows she has only a matter of time for her to disappear without a trace. So off she goes, darting across the country trying to stay one step ahead of the private investigator hired by the family to bring her back.

I really did enjoy this book. I enjoyed following along with Casey as she runs from whomever is chasing her, and following along with her as she tries to stay hidden from the law. Then the friends she meets along with way, and a little bit of drama thrown in.

That said, although I did like the book I didn’t like the way the book ended. It ended, but yet… it didn’t. There is definitely a continuation of the story. Also, I feel like there could have been a little more character development. Perhaps not necessarily on the main character, but perhaps in getting to know some of the other characters in the book. It had drama and suspense, but lacked depth.

Despite these short-comings, I still enjoyed the book.

I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

