Book Review: The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White

51yRKEIJLDL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book follows along with the previous book, The Lost Heiress, but fortunately if you haven’t read it you won’t be completely lost without it. It had been awhile since I had read the book, and while I recognized many of the characters it wasn’t until I continued reading that I realized why. Anyway, basically there is a book prior to The Reluctant Duchess, but it won’t mess up with your reading of this one.

I really did enjoy this book. It started off with drama and the drama continued throughout the book. Rowena I was rooting for, for her to come out of her shell and be her. I think I did get lost somewhere along the way where the merging from her previous belief of ghosts and fairies turned towards God, but I was reading swiftly. Let’s just say that this will be a book I will keep on my shelves and reread in the future.

There was one character whom I thought was lacking just a bit in the character development realm, and that was Stella. She, being a main element later, was not really known. At least to me, to understand what happened. I know why, but the depth of her feelings I didn’t feel.

The end of the book felt just a bit rushed, in order to get all the events played out in the end. And this was coming from me, the quick reading master of the night.

This is a book where you really to set time aside to read. I started the evening before and thought that setting it down and restarting it would be no problem. All day at work, I wanted to read the book. At lunch, I had five minutes in which I wanted to pick up the book… but couldn’t. Knowing I wouldn’t be able to finish it. So last night, I’m in bed with the book reading when husband starts asking me questions. Then he’s showing me cute cat videos on Facebook, when all I want to do is tell him to be quiet and let me read! The seven text messages I ignored as I dove into the book and finished the story.

Definitely enjoyed the book and would most definitely recommend other Christian fiction readers to read it also.

I received this book from Bethany House publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

