Book Review: Hemsley & Helmsley: Good & Simple

51CvO6mIkeL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

When I initially chose this book, the premise of the book intrigued me. The idea to have fun, easy meals to create during the week, while living a healthy lifestyle. These two sisters, Hemsley and Hemsley are focused on wholesome cooking.

The book is beautiful. Well laid out and the type face was well-chosen. It’s easy to read, while teaching you the reader, the reason and benefits of a healthy lifestyle. If you have already touched base on this type of lifestyle, it merely reinforces what you already know.

The cookbook has beautiful photo’s of the majority of recipes, which taunt and urge you to make each and everyone of them. Intrigued, I had my husband select a few that he would like for me to try out.

We tried first the Kasha Buckwheat Burgers/Balls. I followed the directions and found that my buckwheat burgers/balls never really firmed up and when attempting the batch frying, consistently fell apart. The next recipe we tried was the Lubee Beans (Lebanese Green Beans in Tomato Sauce). The flavors in all was just okay. Definitely not something that we look forward to making again in the future.

At this point, I’m willing to try another recipe, just to be encouraged that the recipes contained within the book are worth trying. But it promotes a defeatist feeling when you buy ingredients that end up going down the garbage disposal.

The plus side, is that the recipes are fairly easy to understand and you do not have to buy a wide variety of unknown items to make the recipes.

All in all, I am glad to own this book and will most definitely try another recipe. If my opinions change, I’ll post and update the stars.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

