Book Review: Sister Dear by Laura McNeill

_140_245_Book.1893.cover.jpg

Wow. Just wow. I always love a book where I can’t put a book down because it has captivated me. This was one of those books. I started it last evening and was lucky enough to finish while at work. Yeah, things were a little slow at work and instead of getting on the computer and surfing the internet, I opted to pull out my kindle and read the book.

Sister Dear is about two sisters, Allie and Emma. Allie has always been the “good girl” with a promising career in medicine when tragedy strikes. Convicted of murder, she spends 10 years in jail, away from her family, fiancé and daughter. Her sister Emma cares for her daughter, while being the only one who visits her in prison. But finally she is released, and try’s to make sense of what happened and how she can prove her innocence.

The book flashes back and forth between the time before Allie ended up in prison to the present. It is done in such a manner that it isn’t annoying, in fact, I found it rather helpful. As you are reading you know that there is something wrong, something going on and yet you aren’t really sure which direction it is going to go in.

The only thing I found slightly off is the events at the end of the book. I found that it did nicely tie things in and together, but one of the characters wasn’t really a part of the story. He was, but yet… he wasn’t.

All in all, I really and truly enjoyed the book and look forward to reading other books by Laura McNeill.

I received this eBook from BookLook in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Book Review: Sister Dear by Laura McNeill

  1. Thank you so much! I am so excited that you loved Sister Dear so much!

    Interesting point about the end of the book! (He was, but yet… he wasn’t.) Always good to have that perspective and will keep in mind for the next manuscript 🙂

    xo,

    Laura

Leave a Reply

