Book Review: Overload by Joyce Meyer

cover78006-medium.png

The book caught my attention due to several things. The author, Joyce Meyer, I’ve recently started enjoying listening to on my Roku, then the cover of the book caught my attention. The red cover with the bold text immediately said “PICK ME UP!”. Then the content had me intrigued even further.

Overload is essentially about how are lives are filled with stress and how we are so overloaded with things happening in our lives, that we take no time out for God. We find other things of more importance, that we focus on the things, than Him.

The synopsis from the publisher essentially describes it as technology increases with accessibility, it becomes harder to mute the background of your life and receive God’s guidance.

I really did enjoy reading this book. There are a lot of things that you’ve heard before, but for some reason, the way she wrote it and laid it out within the pages just made sense. I felt inspired to do more in my life to cut out the needless clutter that keeps me from focusing on God.

She focuses alot on stress, and with good reason. We all are covered up to our ears with stress, and the interesting part is, we really don’t have to be. For some reason, so many of us can’t say no, and because of that the stress increases. You want control over a situation, stress increases. You over commit, stress increases.

As I mentioned before, I enjoyed this book and will definitely hang onto it to read again in the future, especially when I find myself losing my way and need a nudge back  into the right direction. Definitely an easy book to read, and you won’t find yourself bogged down with information that goes beyond your interest.

I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

