Book Review: A Dream of Miracles by Ruth Reid

9781401688318.jpg_2.jpg

A Dream of Miracles is about Mattie Diener who is a widow taking care of her two young children. Her youngest is always sick and a new doctor whom she takes her son to suspects that she might be abusing her son. The authorities are called in, along with Child Protective Services, who must research and find out what is she is abusing, or neglecting her child.

I found myself enjoying the book, but not loving the book. There were a few too many story lines going on, and some of them I felt didn’t really have a necessary part in the book. They felt incomplete by the end of the book. The ending also, was interesting but I have to admit did leave me wanting for more. Of course, in turn it makes me wonder if there is to be a sequel written to this book.

Found that I did enjoy the way the story was written, and did find myself eager to find out the ending. But the further I read into the book, I was left with questions about certain situations and wishing I could ask Mattie what on earth was going on. And then there was Bo, who was haunted by dreams he had. Towards the end of the book things are explained, but to me, not completely. I still don’t understand how his current life melded into his past life, unless it said so somewhere in between the pages and I missed it.

All in all, I did enjoy the book and really did wonder how it would all end, despite the areas of slight confusion. I would recommend it and do look forward to other books by Ruth.

This book is published by Thomas Nelson.

I received this complimentary book from BookLook in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

