Book Review: The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck

cover85819-medium.png

Superb. That’s how I describe this book. Just absolutely superb.

Let’s just say, this was one of those books that I just couldn’t put down. Prying the kindle from my hands would have emitted a cry of “noooooo….” But fortunately that didn’t happen. I was able to snuggle under my covers and read. And read I did until after the midnight hour.

I have to be honest, when I initially started on the book it threw me for a loop. I was in present day, and then was suddenly tossed back to the year 1930. Oh no, was my first thought, do I really want to read this? I tossed aside my hesitation and dove in. As I read about Cora, and Haley, I found myself in deep. I now completely understood the two era’s and how they were intertwined with each other, and then how they played a part in the end.

Wow. Just wow is my reaction at the end of the book.

The Wedding Shop, is about two women separated by decades, but are determined to discover their dreams. Cora, resides in the 1930’s and she has inherited the wedding shop from her aunt in Heart’s Bend, TN. Her shop is known and brides come to her shop to find their perfect wedding dress. In the mean time, her time is spent biding the time when her true love returns to marry her. Years pass by while she waits, while another patiently waits to claim her love.

Then there is Haley, who has returned to Heart’s Bend, to find herself. Reeling off from a bad relationship, she returns home trying to figure out where and what to do next. The wedding shop, now a fallen down, decrepit store seems to call to her. Fighting for the right to own the shop, she discovers secrets of the wedding shop that come forth and reveals itself to all.

Again, I really did enjoy this book and highly recommend it. I’ve read one other book by Rachel, and have found myself reading the story over again on several occasions (Once Upon a Prince). Needless to say, after this book, it’s awakened a desire to read more of her books.

This book is set to be sold in stores August 2016.

I received this digital edition complimentary from Zondervan Fiction, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

