Book Review: Dawn at Emberwilde by Sarah E. Ladd

_140_245_Book.1921.cover.jpg

Head’s up. This is one of those books where I started mid-way thru the day, on my lunch break and ended up finishing it at 2:00 in the morning because I didn’t want to wait until the next day to finish it!

Dawn at Emberwilde is about a young woman who has grown up in at the Fellsworth school, not necessarily a finishing school, but a school where rules and rigid following of the rules are required. Beyond the age of care, she remained at the school to care for her younger half-sister Lizzie, and taught as a teacher. But news comes to the headmaster that she actually has family and they have sought to bring her home. Once at her new, grand home, she overhears a discussion that the family is near bankruptcy and barely can manage to keep her and everyone else taken care of in the household.

There is mystery and intrigue involved, and of course romance between two men who vie for her attention.

It really was an overall good book and I truly enjoyed reading it. The descriptions of how Sarah wrote had me feeling as though I was there in the rooms with Isabel experiencing what she was experiencing.

I found that there were some things that were hinted at, but not really answered. Such as the issue of her mother. Things were implied such as a mystery surrounding her death, but the explanation given just kind of melted away the intrigue initially.

Of course as the book went towards the last part of the book, my speed reading took hold. This is definitely a book that I will be putting on my shelves and will be re-reading in the future. I know that there are details I missed in the first go-round that I will enjoy picking up in subsequent reads.

I received this book from the publisher via BookLook in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

