Book Review: Jilted by Varina Denman

cover91089-medium.png

This is the last book in a series of books centered around Trapp, Texas. The story about Lynda Turner, finishes up a story started by her daughter, Ruthie Ann Tuner, followed by Fawn and now Lynda. The stories of them are intertwined with one another, so to understand this book you must read the first two books of the Mended Heart Series, Jaded and Justified.

Jilted is focused on Lynda Turner and her struggles with depression after her husband left her years ago, alone with her young daughter. The struggles she encountered with the people of the town, the whispers and innuendos have been tough on Lynda and not without trauma. But love comes whispering into town offering her chance at love again, but only if she is willing to let go of the past.

I had a very hard time coming up to speed with this book. Although I had read the previous two books, enough time had passed where when I started reading this book I felt lost. It took a very long time for me to come back up to speed with everything that had happened in the previous two books, and it still wasn’t enough to truly understand the family dynamics within.

Ruthie who by now is married and an adult, is portrayed sometimes as a spoiled child. I know she probably isn’t, but again, the lack of keeping up to speed with the previous books left me floundering.

The above issues aside, I did enjoy the book. I found that it offered closure to issues brought forth from the previous books and I was able to follow along with Lynda’s growth and strength within.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

