Book Review: The Courtship Basket by Amy Clipston

51x0uuNNjZL._SS300_.jpg

Amy Clipston has written a story about Rachel Fisher who has faced heartbreak upon discovering that her boyfriend of four years is actually in love with her best friend. She starts a new job with her cousin, only to discover that one of her students is having difficulty. Soon she is sending home meals for her student and the student’s brother and father. A relationship somehow develops.

I really dislike having to leave a less than spectacular review, but sadly this book was not one of my favorites. For me, it was hard to enjoy the characters, often feeling like it was a book geared towards the young adult genre. Having read other Amish books in the past, this one just left me lacking. The main character, Rachel Fisher, I never developed an interest towards liking. Especially when at the beginning she would blatantly disobey a co-teacher in a job that she had held for only a week.

This is one of the few books that I started on the first few chapters, then skipped to the middle before flipping to the last few chapters to see how it was all brought together.

However, I did love the cover art and would contribute that as to my reasoning for selecting this book (and of course, the back cover synopsis).

This was the first time I had read a book in the Amish Heirloon Series, and hopefully my feeling lost (or lacking) wasn’t due to me missing the first book of the series.

I did received this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

