Book Review: The Drawing Lesson by Mark Crilley

9780385346337.jpg

This was the most awesome book on drawing that I have ever owned! I have take Drawing I and II while pursuing my degree, read numerous other books on drawing… but this book spoke to me the best.

Loved the graphic comic on how a lesson was taught. A young boy sees a woman in the park and loves what she has drawn. In turn, he “demands” that she teaches him how to draw like she does. With patience, she sets aside her drawing and gives him a quick, but effective tutorial on the basic of drawing what you see. Then she, believing that is it, and she no longer will see him again… he insists on another lesson. And from there, the story continues.

Superb way of teaching someone to draw, whether they are young or old, I believe that all ages could come to appreciate this method of drawing. At least those who are challenged by drawing and all other methods haven’t done so well. Mine was due to a teacher who insisted on one particular method of teaching that didn’t translate well to my understanding. This book, spoke to me.

Definitely recommend trying out this book. If anything, enjoy the graphic novel. That in itself is worth a read.

I received this book from the publisher at Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

