Book Review: Life of the Party by Bob Kealing

51xMgyj4o1L._SY346_.jpg

By the time I finished this book, I had mixed feelings about it and the character Brownie Wise. The book is about Brownie Wise, the woman who helped bring forth the current success of the company Tupperware in addition to her business relationship with Mr. Tupper, the man who invented Tupperware.

First off, I found the book cover to be quality and the book itself was reminescent of what covers would have looked like in the 1950s. The pictures inside were few and I knew I would have loved to have seen even more of them, whether they contained Brownie Wise or not. Considering she was part of the Tupperware jubilees, it would have been interesting to see more of them, perhaps her ex-husband, her son and her palatial home.

The story was well written, although I did get lost in the way parties were created and the following information about dealers and distributers. I’m still lost and the book will definitely need a reread by me to truly understand the inner workings of running a Tupperware party (not that I’m going to hold one!)

Despite all that, I found the intertwining history of Brownie Wise and her team and Tupper to be very interesting. While it shared a lot of information, I felt in many areas that there could have been so much more to be said. But I will just do more research on the internet and hope to find answers in that way. The epilogue was very helpful in knowing what happened to Brownie Wise after her departure from Tupperware. But again, it leaves you feeling sad at how much she put her heart and soul into a company, only to be forgotten in the anals of history.

This was definitely a biography, and the intention was to tell you about the history of Brownie Wise and not necessarily to make you like or dislike her. From what I read, it sounds like she had to be a high-energy person.

All in all I did enjoy the book, and was hovering between a three-star and four-star book, and decided it was better than average.

I received this from the publisher from Blogging for Books, in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

