Book Review: A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna White

A-Lady-Unrivaled-665x1024.jpg

This is the last book in the series of three for Ladies of the Manor.

Ella has a secret and that is that she knows about the tiger eyes rubies. She wants to help out so she does her own way by researching about the jewels. In the mean time, she is developing a friendship with the neighboring lord whom Brook cannot stand. But the two have a common goal and find that they have an interest in one another.

The only problem I had with the book, was the last chapter. It gave an end to things, but it almost seemed farfetched after thought to the book. I understand the purpose, but I almost think it was overdone and didn’t really fit in with the feel of the rest of the book.

This is a book where you will most definitely need to read the first three books in this series to truly understand the undercurrent of drama occurring. The characters and their rolls within the unraveling plot. Even though it has been within the last year that I have read The Reluctant Heiress I still found myself struggling to place situations that Ella referred to in her story. And Lord Cayton? I recognized him prior but couldn’t figure out why. So yes, please read the first two books of this series before finishing it up with this one.

All in all, I thought the book was well written and kept my attention. It ended with me wanting to hunt down the first book of the series to reread. Needless to say, I’m hoping I haven’t loaned it out, because if that’s the case… I don’t know who has it!

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

