Book Review: In Such Good Company by Carol Burnett

9781101904657.jpg

I remember watching reruns of the Carol Burnett show after school, and found it to be a highlight of my youth. Mixed in with Little House on the Prairie, there was the Carol Burnett show. Even now when I watch the shows on previews, I’m reminded of the many hours of laughter her show would bring to me.

This book by Carol Burnett, In Such Good Company, highlights the years that she spent with the Carol Burnett show. From her start in broadway and then the contract with CBS that allowed her to start her career in a time where all the comedic shows were headlined by men. The chapters are broken down in years and the way that it is written, it is though she is personally sitting down next to you telling her story. I found it fascinating and truly a joy to read.

The one thing I didn’t understand was the chapters where she added scripts. Often times, if I’m reading about a person’s experiences, unless there is a purpose such as an explanation as to a particular scene I can understand the addition of the scenes. But to me it just felt like filler. But overall, I did enjoy the book and reading her twist on the time spent on the show, and the interactions with her staff.

It is a hard cover book with a dust jacket. The back of the dust jacket portrays various photograph scenes from her show. Within the pages, scattered throughout are other images from the years spent on the show, each with it’s own caption. Often funny captions.

I received this complimentary copy from the publisher. The review is my own, honest opinion without any outside influences or requirements.

Leave a Reply

