Book Review: From This Day Forward by Lauraine Snelling

51FDW9lRuXL._SS300_.jpg

I was soooo lost. Having not read the first three books in this series, I thought it would be okay to jump in mid-ship. But no, I was terribly wrong. It felt as thought I had walked in a conversation that I wasn’t included in and no one gave thought to update me on what was going on. Instead I was given little snippets here and there, but nothing that helped me connect the pieces.

Within the first three chapters, I knew that Deborah had a sister, and she and her sister were orphaned by their parents. I admit, I was brain boggled with that tidbit trying to figure out why she and her sister (who currently was nameless) were left in a sodhouse by themselves. But of course, that happened many years ago.

Therefore, within the first three chapters I never really got to know about Deborah. It was focused on someone’s marriage, and then about school teachers. By the time chapter three ended, I had enough and started flipping through the book wondered where Deborah was and where the story was about her. I never even bothered really reading the book, because I just wanted to be done with it.

Thus, my recommendation for this book is don’t read it unless you have read the three previous books to this one. A disclaimer should be given on the book itself that the previous books are required to be read first to understand the sequence of events. I was left utterly frustrated.

I was provided a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Bethany House. The review is my own, honest opinion without any outside influences or requirements.

Leave a Reply

